Keeneland Early Pick 5 Preview – July 9th, 2020

Yesterday was a hell of an opening day at Keeneland! First off, if you happened to follow my post, I apologize for the early pick 5 exit…was a tough pill to swallow but somehow I came back to hit the late pick 5. Let’s not do that again today. But anyways, we have a great 9 card race on a beautiful day in Lexington. Fields are big and there will be tons of value in the pools, so let’s get to it.

Race 1 (1:05pm): Maiden Special Weight, 5½ furlongs on the turf, two year olds

Sheesh! A baby race to start off the day with only a few horses with experience to go off of. The horse to beat should be #5 Fauci, who ran a strong debut finishing 2nd in a small field in which he recorded a 72 Beyer. Wesley Ward will be looking to continue his winning streak at Keeneland, and I think Fauci very well could do it – just would prefer value at 5-2, rather than 2-5 which is possible come post time. For value, check out #8 Petit Verdot who improved his second time out but didn’t have enough gas left in the tank in both of his starts. He has that early speed though and is switching to turf for the first time here, which could be the game changer he needs. Loving this one at 10-1 as well as #12 King Uhtred, who is also 10-1. This is the 12’s first time out and he gets one of the better jockey’s in the group that is Joel Rosario. He was a pricey colt; purchased for $250,000 back in September, I do not expect this one to go off at its morning line odds. 

Race 2 (1:39pm): $50,000 Maiden Claiming, 8½ furlongs on the dirt, fillies & mares 3 yrs old and up

Interesting second race here, not too many horses I love but a lot of horses I don’t like, but let’s find a winner. #3 Flashing Red has some experience this year, however she’s been damn close a couple times. She sets smart paces and has late speed that will definitely put her in the running for the top 3 again in this one. #11 Malibu Marlee finished 4th her last time out but recorded a 74 Beyer on the turf. Interesting decision bringing her back to the dirt for this one. Well would you look at that…we have another Malibu here! #1 Malibu Anthem gets Tyler Gaffalione, who came in a close second while riding him a couple weeks ago where he put up a 69 Beyer. He was purchased for $180k last year, making her the pricest of the bunch. If you’re hitting the early Pick 5, don’t leave off the favorite #7 Jeweled Princess

Race 3 (2:12pm): $40,000 Claiming, 6½ furlongs on the dirt, 3 yr olds and up

Looking into this race, the first thing I noticed was the Santana/Asmussen J/T duo on #9 Pyron, which is obviously something I and many others look for. Pyron is the ML favorite here at 3-1 and is without a doubt one of the best horses in the group, however he’s yet to win in over a year. I can absolutely see the 9 winning, but I’ll be honest I do not love the value here especially if he gets bet down to 2-1 or worse. #3 Mo’s Mojo is sitting at 8-1 ML and offers some great value considering the early speed he’s shown. He’s taking a significant drop in distance here compared to recent races, so if he can break early for the lead I’ll actually be more confident in this one. #4 The Great Dansky has run solely dirt sprints, but takes an extra sixteenth of a mile in this race. Like the 3, she has the early speed, so it will be interesting to see which one gets out in front first. Jockey Florent Geroux had a great day at Keeneland yesterday and this year in general; he and Brad Cox have brought bettors some solid ROI. 

Race 4 (2:45pm): $30,000 Claiming, 8½ furlongs on the dirt, 3 yr olds and up

Tough field here. Plenty of experience all around, and many horses have put up great figures in the past but have been relatively inconsistent. That being said, I’ll be taking the favorite #7 Stealth, who gets Julian Leparoux, Keeneland’s leading jockey, on the saddle and has the best overall numbers of the group. #12 Tiz McNamara finished 3rd in his only race on the turf in his career, where he recorded an 83 Beyer. He’s yet to have a run like that since, and the switch back to the grass for the first time in over a year could be the game changer. At 12-1, this is a great one to consider across the board. 

Race 5 (3:18pm): Allowance, 1 mile on the turf, 3 yr old fillies & mares and up

The most important race of the day is this one…Last leg of the early Pick 5 (if you’re still alive) and the first leg of the late Pick 5, need to nail this one. #11 Jen Take Charge is my first pick in this one. She’s been running well this year and broke her maiden at Gulfstream back in February. She’s yet to win again, but she put on a great performance at Churchill a month back, recording her best Beyer yet (76). With experience on the turf and Lanerie out for revenge, very much so liking the 11 at 5-1. Did you really think I’d pass up on the Santana/Asmussen horse #10 Confession? Absolutely not. This is another horse with great, consistent speed figures and has even better late speed than the 11 which could be pivotal in the final stretch. She’s also 5-1 ML odds and will be one of the best in the field. Lastly, #9 Lady Oxbow has been running well on the turf as of recently. Her last time out was in the Hillsborough (G2) at Tampa where she was a huge longshot and finished 8th, but her 81 speed figure did not go unnoticed. Note: For those that are looking to spread a race, I think this is the one to do it. I also like #2 Loving Moment, #3 Ivyetsu, and #4 Osaka Girl, who will all offer much better value come post time and in Pick 5/6 pools. 

EARLY PICK 5 CARD:
R1: 5/8/12
R2: 1/3/7/11
R3: 3/4/9
R4: 7
R5: 1/3/9/10/11
Total cost: $90 for a $.50 ticket.

These pools are going to pay big today…so while I like keeping tickets cheap (relatively), I always recommend you add in any horses you may like. This is my most expensive ticket yet, and if I’m still in come race 4 I will be shitting myself and mad that I didn’t add more horses, but it’s how I like to play these. 

Be sure to follow me on Twitter at @SpaSaturdays to keep up with the action in real time. If I decide to hit the late Pick 5, I’ll put those picks out there as well. Thanks everyone, and let’s have a Thursday! 

238 thoughts on “Keeneland Early Pick 5 Preview – July 9th, 2020”

  1. It’s perfect time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time
    to be happy. I have learn this put up and if I could I want to recommend you some attention-grabbing
    things or suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles relating to this
    article. I wish to learn more things approximately it!

  2. We absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write concerning here.
    Again, awesome web log!

    Visit my web page – live22 apk

  3. I simply wished to say thanks once more. I amm not sure thee things I would’ve undertakn in the absence of the type
    of concepts shown by you over that area. It truly was the frightful concern in my opinion, but
    being able to see a professional strategy you dealt with it forced me to leap
    wkth contentment. I will be happioer ffor the advice and in addition sincerely hope youu are aware of an amazing job you’reundertaking training
    many others with the aid off your blog post. Moost likely you
    haven’t come across any of us.

  4. Heey there! I know this iѕ kind of off-topіc however I had to ask.
    Does managing a well-established bpоg ѕᥙch
    as yours require a ⅼarցe amount off work?
    I’m brand new tо running a blog however I do ԝrite in my dіary on ɑ daily basis.
    I’d lіke to staгt a blog so I can share mу own experience and thougһts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind off suggestions
    or tips for new aspiring ƅloggers. Thankyou!

  5. I’m not that muϲh of a internet reader to Ƅe honest but yoir blogs
    really nice,keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bo᧐kmarfk your
    websіte to come back down the roaԀ. Αll the best

  6. I believe everything published made a great deal of sense.

    However, think on this, what if you added a little content?
    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website,
    however suppose you added a headline to maybe get people’s attention? I mean Keeneland Early Pick 5 Preview – July 9th, 2020 – Saturdays in The
    Spa is a little boring. You might look at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create news headlines to get viewers to click.

    You might add a video or a related pic or two to grab readers interested about
    what you’ve written. Just my opinion, it might bring your posts a little livelier.

    Also visit my homepage :: mpc-install.com

  7. certainly like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very bothersome to tell the
    truth then again I will definitely come back again.

    Here is my web page … mpc-install.com

  8. Howdy very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also?
    I’m happy to search out a lot of useful information right here within the publish, we want
    work out extra strategies in this regard, thank you
    for sharing. . . . . .

    Feel free to surf to my blog post; http://www.aniene.net

  9. you’re actually a excellent webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing.
    It kind of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick.
    Also, The contents are masterwork. you have performed a magnificent activity in this matter!

    Feel free to surf to my web page – http://www.lubertsi.net

  10. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.

    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but
    I thought I’d post to let you know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Kudos

    Feel free to visit my blog bbs.yunweishidai.com

  11. Nice weblog here! Additionally your web site so
    much up fast! What host are you the usage of?

    Can I get your affiliate hyperlink in your host? I desire my
    website loaded up as fast as yours lol.

    Here is my blog post: chengdian.cc

  12. Exⅽellent post. I used to be cһecking ϲonstantly this bloog and I’m impressed!
    Very useful info specifically the ultimate part 🙂 I maintain sucһ
    information much. I was lookіng for this particular іnfօ for a lpng time.

    Thanks and best of luck.

  13. Hello, you used to write wonderful, but the last few posts have been kinda boring…
    I miss your great writings. Past several posts are just a little bit out of track!
    come on!

    My website … kebe.top

  14. I?m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog
    that?s equally educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you
    have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I came across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

    Stop by my website … Tammie

  15. Great beat ! I wօuld like too apprentice while you amend your site, how cоuld i subscribe for a werblog web site?
    The acϲount helped me a appropriate deal.

    I have been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast provided shin transparent idea

  16. Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is really annoying.
    A good web site with interesting content, this is what I need.
    Thank you for keeping this web-site, I’ll be visiting it.
    Do you do newsletters? Cant find it.

    my page: mpc-install.com

  17. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure
    things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any ideas or suggestions? With thanks

    Also visit my blog kebe.top

  18. We would like to thank you all over again for the stunning ideas you
    offered Jesse when preparing a post-graduate research in addition to,
    most importantly, with regard to providing all the ideas in a single blog post.
    Provided that we had been aware of your web page a year ago, i’d have been kept from the needless measures we were choosing.
    Thank you very much.

    Here is my webpage :: continent.anapa.org

  19. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog
    that’s equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you,
    you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something which too few
    people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled
    across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

    Take a look at my site … http://www.in-almelo.com/UserProfile/tabid/57/userId/2235134/language/en-US/Default.aspx

  20. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading
    it, you might be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will often come back very soon.
    I want to encourage you to continue your great job, have a nice weekend!

  21. My husband and i felt so satisfied when Ervin managed to carry
    out his inquiry from the ideas he discovered using your web page.
    It’s not at all simplistic just to happen to be releasing techniques that many men and women have been selling.
    So we do know we’ve got the blog owner to appreciate for that.
    The explanations you’ve made, the simple web site navigation, the friendships
    you can make it easier to create – it is most overwhelming,
    and it is facilitating our son and the family understand the
    content is entertaining, which is tremendously indispensable.
    Thank you for the whole thing!

    Also visit my web-site :: Metabo Fix

  22. Hello there! This post could not be written much better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

    Also visit my site :: Breeze Tech Review

  23. Pingback: dapoxetine 1mg

  24. Pingback: hydroxychloroquine approved by fda

  25. Amazing things here. I’m very satisfied to see your article.
    Thanks so much and I am looking forward to contact you.
    Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  26. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility
    issues? A couple of my blog visitors have complained about my website
    not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.

    Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

    Here is my homepage … http://www.hltkd.tw

  27. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of
    the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless,
    I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
    back often!

    Also visit my homepage; Niagara XL

  28. Pingback: pinworm treatment hydroxychloroquine

  29. What i do not realize is actually how you are not really much more neatly-appreciated
    than you may be now. You are very intelligent. You already know thus
    considerably when it comes to this topic, produced me in my view imagine
    it from so many numerous angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be fascinated
    except it’s one thing to do with Woman gaga!
    Your own stuffs excellent. At all times care for it
    up! http://cleckleyfloors.com/

  30. Thank you for every other informative website.

    The place else may I get that kind of info written in such an ideal method?
    I’ve a venture that I am just now running on, and I have been at the look out for such info.

    My page … FrioBreeze Reviews (137.59.150.54)

  31. Everything wrote made a ton of sense. However, consider this,
    suppose you were to create a awesome headline? I am not suggesting your
    content isn’t good., however what if you added something that makes people desire more?
    I mean Keeneland Early Pick 5 Preview – July 9th, 2020 – Saturdays in The Spa is a little boring.
    You should peek at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create post titles to grab viewers to open the
    links. You might try adding a video or a picture or
    two to get people interested about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it would make
    your blog a little bit more interesting.

    Feel free to surf to my web blog … Total Pure CBD Review

  32. Hi there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this website? I’m getting
    fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at options for another
    platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Here is my web page: forum.adm-tolka.ru

  33. I loved as much as you’ll obtain performed right here. The comic strip is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish.
    however, you command get bought an edginess over that you want be handing over the following.
    sick definitely come further previously once more since exactly the similar nearly very often inside of case
    you protect this hike.

    My web site 800ws.net

  34. Pingback: stromectol drug classification

  35. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit
    my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

    my webpage; Minna

  36. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of space .
    Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website.

    Studying this information So i’m glad to express that I
    have a very good uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed.
    I such a lot definitely will make sure to do not fail to remember this website and provides it a look on a constant basis.

    my web site :: NatureFused Anti Aging Cream

  37. Pingback: priligy prescription only

  38. It’s awesome to pay a visit this website and reading the views of all mates regarding this
    article, while I am also eager of getting familiarity.